Imagine by Raoul Elliot

This morning I read an absolutely gorgeous poem by a fellow blogger, Raoul Elliot, and just had to share it with you. 🙂 Beautifully done, Raoul!

 

Imagine

by Raoul Elliot

Imagine if I took hold of your hand

And suddenly all these thoughts, these dreams,

Passed from me to you like lightning

Flowing through our veins, our blood,

Connected at the seams, bonded through

Experience, through pain, through change,

That we can share, can see, can feel, can be,

Can live and love as us; not me and you.

~

Imagine if you could take all this

Into yourself, along with everything

You’ve ever known, or dared to find

Beyond the wild horizon of your mind’s

Perception, where dimensions shift

And nothing else breaks through the wall –

The rift of doubt and disarray that rocks

You to and fro within your ego’s arms.

~

Imagine if my words might well remain

Unspoken, only worth the voice

With which they reach your heart

That knows them long before they leave

These lips, these teeth, this tongue,

This throttled throat that tightens,

Gasping, asking, praying for release

Before my final rasping breath is drawn.

~

Imagine if I lost the will to carry on,

And having wasted by the wayside

All my life, had only you to keep me

Strong, to keep me moving facing forward,

Never turning to look back for fear

Of what I may have left behind,

Or may have left besides this soul,

This shell, this skeleton, no longer mine.

4 thoughts on “Imagine by Raoul Elliot

  1. beautiful indeed! 🙂

  2. Raoul says:

    I’m flattered that you feel my poetry is worth sharing, Bethany – thanks for the shout out! 😀

Leave your thoughts

