The Beast Of A Beauty

________________________________________

Breaking a heart is an exhausting pastime

How do you do it so well?

You do enough damage irreparable

And leave me alive enough to take it again

And take it I do, full in its hidden force

 

I won’t say I have no part in it

I curse myself for this truth

I feed the hand that bites me

My tears fall with the blood

 

But I’m looking for love, not for sympathy

I believe you know they’re not the same

But since you have neither to give,

I’ll go back to my corner now till you need me again

 ________________________________________

Copyright © Bethany Richardson 2012

2 thoughts on “The Beast Of A Beauty

  1. Raoul says:

    I’m feeling a connection with this poem right now. The only line that jarred with me was ‘And take it I do’ – it seems unnecessary, almost like you’re filling space. Having said that, the end of the line ‘full in its hidden force’ is an exceptional phrase – I’m almost jealous that I’ve never used it! 😛
    Well done with this – enjoy isn’t really the word (ugh, cliche!) but it definitely reached me. I’m eager to see what you go on to write from here. x

    • Bethany says:

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts for me, Raoul! Again, it’s not really the word to use, but I’m glad you “enjoyed” it; or rather that it did reach you. 🙂 Oh, and on that line, I did put that in there almost for that slight jarring effect, just for an uneasy emphasis. I’m not exactly a conventional writer. *hangs head in shame* 😉

Leave your thoughts

