The Necessity Of My Existence

……………………………………………………………………

“For women, then, poetry is not a luxury. It is a vital necessity of our existence. It forms the quality of the light within which we predicate our hopes and dreams toward survival and change, first made into language, then into idea, then into more tangible action. Poetry is the way we help give name to the nameless so it can be thought. The farthest horizons of our hopes and fears are cobbled by our poems, carved from the rock experiences of our daily lives.”

– Audre Lorde

……………………………………………………………………

6 thoughts on “The Necessity Of My Existence

  1. Kira says:

    This speaks so clearly of what is on my own heart, my own mind when I sit down to write. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. Anne Sikes says:

    Oh how I agree with this! It’s such a means of ‘therapy’ in a way too.

    • Bethany says:

      I absolutely agree with you on the therapy aspect! I don’t know how I’d remain sane without being able to write everything down. Thank you for your input and for the follow! : )

  3. lily2u1 says:

    Love this, and had not read it before. Thank you so much, Bethany. Wishing you a happy weekend ~ Lily

Leave your thoughts

