Amaurosis

…………………………………………………………………………………..

That open eye staring but unseeing

Perceiving distant shivers for those things unfelt

Running fingers over the braille of my goosebumps

You know what they suggest, but misunderstand what they say  

If only I could bypass my overthought metaphors

Cremate these paper leaves to ashen debris

If I could reveal the recondite

And resurrect my prostrate longings

Then I could brush the dark rain from my eyes

Stop stepping over these inconspicous bodies

But I’ll go back inside now

And you can stare at my door in your sleep

…………………………………………………………………………………..

Copyright © Bethany Richardson 2012

11 thoughts on “Amaurosis

  1. Ayasonice says:

    hmm, very thought provoking. Lovely! How are you doing today, Beth?

    • Bethany says:

      I’m glad you thought so! I’m doing well! About to go for a walk in the woods and have some thinking time for my writing. : ) How about you?

      • Ayasonice says:

        Hey! I’m doing well. Yes, being at one with nature creates the perfect atmosphere for thoughts to roam far and wide. I look forward to what you’ll write next 🙂

  2. Ina says:

    Hi Bethany, what a great poem!

  3. cantatonic says:

    intensive, really nice. keep it up, x

  4. beautiful… Beautiful….

  5. These lines are crazy good:

    “You know what they suggest, but misunderstand what they say

    If only I could bypass my overthought metaphors

    Cremate these paper leaves to ashen debris”

    And that final line is strong! I can’t imagine a more powerful end to this poem. When you get to college please don’t let some professor change your writing style in a creative writing class. Trust me, you are already more talented than 99% of the professors teaching right now.

Leave your thoughts

