A Disconsolate Utopia

…………………………………………………………………………………

But who can lay blame

When there was no fault

Only the dreams of a woman

Created by child’s heart

The only blunder made

Was in the lack of suspicion

Never supposing the fantasy would end

All would be forgiven

Now that it has ended, that which never began

I’ll lace up the mask of dispassion

For now I will wait

Wait for the promise of the unattainable

That which will never bestow

…………………………………………………………………………………

Copyright © Bethany Richardson 2012

10 thoughts on “A Disconsolate Utopia

  1. Ayasonice says:

    Oh dear, this is a very sad one… “Now that it has ended, that which never began”. and ” …the dreams of a woman created by a child’s heart.” are very emotive lines. Heartbreak is never easy but just perhaps it spares us from the disappointment of settling for less than the best. Great thoughts expressed here,

  2. Bluesander says:

    Lonely, sad…And yet beautiful. To wait for something that won’t come…There’s always an element of desperation associated with that and that element always seems to capture my heart. Your poetry is beautiful.

    • Bethany says:

      Oh, thank you! It warms my heart when others find some beauty in what I write. I understand what you mean about the irony of lonliness being beautiful. It is strangely captivating. Thank you for following! : )

  3. davidandresalix says:

    I really like this. It reminds me of my poem, “Sponge”. Check it out. Also “Art Lover”.

  4. I really like this. Well done 🙂

Leave your thoughts

