Empty Dance

(Newsflash for those of you who might have seen it otherwise and were confused: I changed the name of this poem from Begin Your Inhibition to Empty Dance. I think it fits better.)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

“Don’t ever wear your heart on your sleeve again”

My mind belatedly chastises

I’ll pull out the wine-colored stitches I embroidered there with care

Now all they are, all they’ll be, are bastes to keep me tied to earth

The music always points to you

But I must turn to the page to empty these thoughts

I’ll bleach away nostalgia

Bid reminiscence begone

And dance this empty dance

To a hollow song in a deserted room

Copyright © Bethany Richardson 2012

6 thoughts on “Empty Dance

  1. Ayasonice says:

    Hey Bethany, great poem! Better late than never… follow that brilliant mind of yours, girl 🙂

  2. This one is strongly felt…you did a great job. The closing is especially powerful:

    “And dance this empty dance

    To a hollow song in a deserted room”

  3. I can feel the pain here: “I’ll pull out the wine-colored stitches I embroidered there with care”. That line is like torture. Ruminating in the pain as you take each stitch out. Love turning to pain and loss…that’s the worst. I sense a loneliness here, too. I think the title is perfect. 🙂

Leave your thoughts

