The Overflow

“…For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.”

                                 -Luke 6:45b

(This is as close as I’ll ever get to a disclaimer, as I usually disdain them. But I felt some things needed to be explained, so here you go.)

I’ve been asked a few times (even from my mom!) if the subjects that I write about are accurate to my outlook on life and are a true reflection of the thoughts of my soul. Now I could answer yes truthfully, but I must be careful of all those who would say, “Oh dear. Another moody and introverted teenager.”  That, in fact, is not entirely true. So I will attempt to explain to those certain concerned ones just why I write what I do.

My writing is the overflow of my heart and mind when the mediocrities of everyday life push the beautiful and the abstract over the edge. The page is the safety net to catch those thoughts and emotions before they fall to a forgotten oblivion; the pen the catharsis for those things people are often too afraid to give precedence to in their minds.

I can’t just write about any average thing. To write, I need to feel strongly about something. That doesn’t indicate I am constantly sad and contemplative. But when I am, I have my notebook at the ready.

I can completely understand how some could think that I’m in some sort of “Slough of Despond”, but I’m really not. I just attempt (because no one can truly portray the depth of an emotion) to convey what would not be remembered in its fullness if I had not chronicled it. I do hope this cleared things up for those of you. 🙂 (I’m sure those of you who are writers understand. :))

Much love,

-Bethany

Copyright © Bethany Richardson 2012

3 thoughts on “The Overflow

  1. Wow..you’re a teenager?!? A brilliant one, at that. I work with a lot of teenagers every day, so it never surprises me to discover a brilliant student. 🙂 But sometimes, there is the rare student who is wise beyond her years…you certainly seem to fit that mold. You know…if there were a “mold” you could fit into….I seriously doubt there is though!

  2. Bethany says:

    Haha, yes sir! I’m a junior in high school. Thank you so much for your overwhelming compliment! It means a lot. I’m very honored and encouraged. : )

  3. davidandresalix says:

    Concise summation of what we feel as writers: “Overflow of my heart and mind when the mediocrities of everyday life push the beautiful and the abstract over the edge. The page is the safety net to catch those thoughts and emotions before they fall to a forgotten oblivion”. Perfect.

Leave your thoughts

