Smoke And Mirrors

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

“As it all went on, the love became a field in a dream that once had been real… I secretly longed for something which had never existed. First, I thought it was a dream. But then it smashed into reality…”

-Epica, Illusive Consensus

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

In the distance, I behold a stirring and beautiful sight

Catch glimpse of what’s known as Possibility

The sweetness thereof, it captivates

Discounts Reason and rejects History 

Simply the sight of It blinds you to the other Possibility:

That of falling into the pool of crushing and overwhelming Night

.

The tongues of Wisdom tried to dissuade my heart

Attempted to drag my feet to the Path forgotten

Endeavored to warn that Possibility is never long to last

.

But listening was something of yesteryear

My eyes wide open, but still blinded by phosphorescent Illusions

I walked into the Fog of ethereal dreams

Onward to the goal beyond shadows

.

Ah, but had I heeded Wisdom’s sweet entreaties!

Had I but listened I would not now be half of a Whole

A Whole that is nonexistent

Now the repercussions of the Deception of my own creation

Pound my mistake over and over into my shattered remains

.

Though now I turn back to the discarded dreams,

I shall never forget, always hold close

The naive Time of the smoke and mirrors

Before the self-deception was discovered

 

Copyright © Bethany Richardson 2012

3 thoughts on “Smoke And Mirrors

  1. Great poem! I’ve been trying to write some poetry myself for a while, here’s my first poem: http://bulletinamaelstrom.wordpress.com/2012/04/11/145/

  2. Bethany says:

    Thank you so much! 🙂

Leave your thoughts

